Earth Circle

On the first day of every month we sit at the same moment for five minutes with thousands of others to visualize peace.

Many of us have already experienced the deep nourishment that comes with sitting in circle. Imagine hundreds, thousands, even millions of people all over the world sitting regularly at the same instant, once each month in dynamic friendship. Even though we are not physically together, we know that a shared intention is a powerful force even at a physical distance. We are convinced some surprises beyond our imaginings are in store for all of us as we make this commitment.

Join with others to visualize dynamic harmony within the human species. We say “dynamic harmony” because we are an active species, so the harmony must be a dynamic one, as we actively move more deeply in rapport with our environment with each other, with other animals, with the plants, and with the planet. Together we commit to using this moment of prayer and meditation to focus on new levels of kindness, understanding, and compassion that are needed today as we collectively face the challenges of the the 21st century.

Please bring your own form of practice to this circle. We encourage participation to come from the widest possible religious, cultural, and ethnic backgrounds in order to bring the strength of diversity to our circle.

The circle represents the cross-cultural symbol of unity. In fact, humanity, as it is dispersed around the planet, is always in circle. If we could be seen from space, we would appear from any angle, to be in circle all the time. Earth Circle is a conscious recognition of that truth.

The key is to keep it simple and short so that everyone is able to participate, since some people will be at their jobs and may not be able to take a longer break. For others it may be three or four o’clock in the morning. Most of us, though, can manage five minutes once a month, whatever our circumstances.

We, at New Dimensions Media, commit to sitting quietly at a specified time on the first day of each month. (If you are in certain parts of Australia and Asia, it would be the second day of each month because of the International Date Line.) We suggest that this Earth Circle happen at 4:00 p.m. Greenwich Time, which would be 11:00 a.m. in New York, 10:00 a.m. in Chicago, 9:00 a.m. in Denver, 8:00 a.m. in San Francisco, etc. (See adjacent list).

Five minutes may seem a short time; some may choose to sit for longer—and that is fine. The most important aspect is the intention and motivation that we bring to benefit all life on the planet. Sitting for five minutes with the intention of deep healing for the planet and all its people is powerful forum.

We suggest you calculate the starting time for your location by using the chart below. Put a little heart on your calendar and a note on your bathroom mirror and refrigerator. It is difficult to start a new habit so figure out ways to remind each other—Partner with someone and call one another just before the end of the month as a reminder.

Please join us in a monthly Earth Circle! And let others know—Copy this article, put it in other newsletters and magazines. Let us know that you are joining us:
info@newdimensions.org

We chose 4 p.m. Greenwich Mean Time, on the first day of each month to allow most major populated areas to avoid middle-of-the-night times. For those who change your clocks for Daylight Savings Time or British Summer Time, please disregard the time change and continue sitting at the old time throughout the summer, to remain consistent with Greenwich Mean Time, which never changes. The chart below gives times for sample locations around the world.

Place Standard Time DST/Summer
London 4:00 p.m. 5:00 p.m.
New York 11:00 a.m. Noon
Chicago 10:00 a.m. 11:00 a.m.
Denver 9:00 a.m. 10:00 a.m.
San Francisco 8:00 a.m. 9:00 a.m.
Anchorage 7:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m.
Honolulu 6:00 a.m.
Christchurch, N.Z. 4:00 a.m.*
Sydney 2:00 a.m.*
Tokyo 1:00 a.m.*
Beijing Midnight *
Bangkok 11:00 p.m.
Karachi 9:00 p.m.
Moscow 7:00 p.m.
Jerusalem 6:00 p.m.
Johannesburg, S.A. 6:00 p.m.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 1:00 p.m.
San Jose, Costa Rica 10:00 a.m.
New Delhi, India 10:00 a.m.
*second day of month